Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Chickpea Salad-With Asian Dressing

After I made the Soya Patties, my mother has secretly taken a picture of the kitchen which she thinks is “messy”. She has threatened me that, she will post it if I don’t clean up the “mess” after the cooking is done. I wonder if all the mothers have this issue!

Moving on. While I was coming back from work today, I saw some really fresh spring onions. That got me thinking. I was hungry. I wanted something as soon as I reached home. I had the *Conditions Apply clause as well (to clean the “mess”). I surely had some serious thinking to do.

After reaching home, I found some boiled chickpeas, tomatoes, cucumber and capsicum. Normally with these ingredients, I make a quick chaat, adding some chaat masala, pepper, salt and finally a dash of lemon. Filling and satisfying. Now that I have a blog, I do feel the need to jazz up the food a bit.

I am not a salad person at all. I would prefer anything deep fried, buttery, sweet- any day!

Can I just pat on my back and say how delicious this salad is? Quick. Easy. Unexpectedly yummy.

Also, the whole process brings in lot of memories. Chopping vegetables was how my tete-a-tete with food began and it still continues my favorite part about cooking (one of the reasons why I don’t fancy a food processor)

Image

Where it all began! πŸ™‚

This salad is super versatile! Think of the directions and ingredients below as suggestions:

Use rocket lettuce to add the extra crunch.

Add a dash of lime juice along with some zest for the extra tang.

Sprinkle some bhujia sev on top! ( My dad did this, and it tasted great! )

You can just try anything! If it sounds delicious in your Β brain, it surely will be delicious in the salad. πŸ™‚

CHICKPEA SALAD- WITH ASIAN DRESSING

Dressing:

1/2 cup of sesame seeds (soaked for 30 mins)

1/4 cup of roasted peanuts

2-3 cloves of garlic

2-3 green chillies

Salt- To taste

1/2 cup hung curd

2 teaspoons Soya Sauce

2 teaspoon Orange juice

1 teaspoon Black Pepper

1 teaspoon sesame oil

Salad:

1 cup boiled chickpeas

1 small tomato (finely chopped)

6 sprigs of Spring onions

1 cucumber ( finely chopped)

Quarter capsicum (finely chopped)

Make a paste of soaked sesame, peanuts and green chilies. I personally love the flavor of chili when roasted on a flame for sometime. You can very well used the fresh green chilies. Prepare the dressing for the salad by mixing all the ingredients with the sesame-peanut paste.

In a large bowl mix the chickpeas, tomatoes, spring onions, cucumber and capsicum. Pour the dressing and toss the salad.

Final touch- Few drops of sesame oil.

Image

Yes! I have a mickey mouse spoon! (Only legs seen here 😦 )

Image

Who said salads are boring?!

More to come….. πŸ™‚

P.S. The kitchen has been cleaned. In fact I think it’s cleaner than before. πŸ˜‰

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Chickpea Salad-With Asian Dressing

  1. Shankar Raj on said:

    Thanks Soumya for the salad details. Shall drop in when you make another fresh salad. But do give advance notice. And hope the kitchen mess has been cleared. Happy cooking.

  2. eesha vaidya on said:

    oh wow yum……………..

  3. mamata on said:

    Wow!! i had thought it would be the same boiled-chana-chat-disguised-as-a-salad, but this is so different! Orange juice, soya sauce, hung curd, sesame seeds!! This is good stuff, wonder how you got this idea πŸ™‚
    Looks lovely, and reads great too! Waiting to try it πŸ™‚

  4. mamata on said:

    Mickey mouse spoon deserves more screen space πŸ˜›

  5. Soumya on said:

    Thank you everyone! πŸ™‚

  6. Meena Herle on said:

    Hi Soumya, great job done ! I am a colleague of your Dad. Feels wanting for more . The process is described beautifully with humour thrown in . Impressed by your versatile personality . Wish you the very best ,

  7. Soumya on said:

    Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  8. Nice recipe! Whats more, I have chickpeas with me too πŸ™‚
    Thanks

  9. Shamant on said:

    Sounds great! Good thing you didn’t use tomatoes. They screw up the whole thing!
    But it’s sad that I, being your dear cousin and living hardly a few kilometers away from your house, haven’t tasted even 1/4 of all these delicious foods 😦
    Anyway, amazing stuff you’ve invented there! Keep it up!:)

    • You are the best cousin in the whole wide world (Just in case you didn’t know) and about you getting to taste it, now that I have started driving, you shall get to taste everything πŸ™‚

  10. Shamant on said:

    B-)

Leave a Reply

