Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Strawberry Upside-down Chocolate Cake

I have been dreaming about food these days. Not that it’s something new, but back then it was more about eating, now its only about cooking. I could have posted this recipe on the Valentine’s day but that would be such a cliché! Chocolate. Strawberries. How predictable for a Valentine’s day?

Ain't they prettyyyyy!?

Sunday mornings are the best! I feel I am at my “creative-best” on Sunday mornings. I had to bake today. Umm something with strawberries, may be?! I started thinking of all the combinations possible with strawberry. Strawberry and Cinnamon. Strawberry and Coffee. Strawberry and Cardamom. Finally after some thinking and a small chat with a friend… it was Strawberry and Chocolate! Duh-huh! My failed attempt to kill the cliché!

Colors!

I started writing the post while the cake was still baking. Now that it is baked and unmolded (one of the dreaded moments!), I am not really happy with the way it looks :(.   Initially I was apprehensive about posting it, but when I tasted it, it was just the way I thought it would taste. Absolutely delicious. I pictured it to look differently though! I thought it would be a layer of beautiful strawberry pink on top of a rich dark brown chocolate cake.

Strawberries and Brown Sugar

Are you able to imagine?!

I am a little upset, but the taste made it up for me! May be I should have added a dash of lemon juice on the strawberries to stop them from de-colorizing. Lesson learnt.

Do not judge the book by its cover. How true.

Best eaten when warm

Did you know that the word upside-down is hyphenated when used as an adjective? Upside-down describes the cake here. I am working big time in the adjective land.

And that’s why I teach English!

Class dismissed.

STRAWBERRY UPSIDE-DOWN CHOCOLATE CAKE-RECIPE

1 cup strawberries (cut into rounds)

1 1/3 cup flour

1 cup castor sugar

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup unsalted butter

2/3 cup fresh cream

A pinch of salt

2-3 large spoons of brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix the cream, butter and castor sugar in a bowl till you get a creamy homogeneous mixture. Sieve the flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda and salt, 3-4 times.  Mix the batter properly in one direction. To get the right consistency add milk and start folding the batter.

Grease the baking dish with butter. Cut the strawberries into rounds and align them in the baking dish. Sprinkle some brown sugar.

Spread the cake batter on the strawberries  and put the baking dish in the pre-heated oven, at 180 degrees for 35 minutes.

Serve warm, with whipped cream/ice cream.

More to come…. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Upside-down Chocolate Cake

  1. Rajani on said:

    Very good recipe. Keep up the good work.

  2. Reshma on said:

    Doesn’t look all that bad but I’m sure it tastes gr888…. I liked d compound adjective used akkaooooo….:)))

  3. mamata on said:

    Ah, looks nice and moist 🙂

  4. Shamant on said:

    Must taste wonderful, though the strawberries look pretty rotten! 😛
    Just kidding! 😛
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Nah! I am joking!:P

Leave a Reply

