Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Potato and Broccoli Crunchies

Hola people!

A happy holi to all of you.  I hope that all of you have a colorful year! A holi party was hosted by some family friends and I just got back. My hands are red, hair is purple,  my clothes have a whole lot of colors. I look as vibrant as ever!  As a child it was imperative that you had these color stains, when you went to the school, next day. Just to show-off what a wonderful holi you had! I think I still am going to show-off but this time I am the teacher!

I was just thinking how my life would be if my hair was curly. I would be so proud to show-off my locks. My hair is painfully straight and no amount of curling, styling, spraying helps! Looks like the outside of my head is just like the inside- Stubborn!

Probably I should just let my hair be as it is. Straight. But sometimes you want a change. Curly with just the right amount of frizz. Whatever.

Talking about change, sometimes, one needs to have broccoli, and not in the form of soup or salad.

There are days when you should totally totally eat something deep fried- without feeling guilty. If you agree with me then a mental hi-five!

And if you like potatoes- Hi-five again!

Let’s think about the classic combinations. Apple and Cinnamon. Strawberry and chocolate. Garlic and pepper. ummm garlic, pepper and mint?! May be! Why not?!

By the way the best way to cook potatoes is to microwave them in a plastic bag, with the skin for about 6 mins. You will get perfectly cooked potatoes.

I am looking for a perfect crunch. Like real crrrrruuuuunnnnnch! You get it?

Open pantry. No bread crumbs. No cornflakes. No cornflour! What do we do?

Rice flour and puffed rice powder! Let’s give it a shot!

You like cheese? Lets add cheese!

Something inside tells me that you are totally going to love this!

Potato Broccoli Crunchies- Recipe 

Makes 6 medium size crunchies

4 potatoes boiled and mashed

12-14 broccoli florets, chopped finely

5-6 cloves of garlic

2-3 tsp of mozzarella cheese

1 small cup of chopped mint

2 tsp of black pepper powder

Salt as per taste

For the coating

Rice flour+water paste. Consistency should be medium. Not too runny or thick.

Puffed rice- powdered

Mix the mashed potatoes, broccoli florets with crushed garlic (grate it), mint leaves pepper and salt. Give it a round shape using a cookie cutter/a cup.

Dip the mixture in rice flour paste and then roll it over the puffed rice powder.

Allow them to rest for a 10 mins in the refrigerator and then deep fry them.

Serve hot.

More to come!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Potato and Broccoli Crunchies

  1. Spur on said:

    Do these work as well when grilled?

  2. venugopal dh on said:

    The crunchies were good – how about using just mint?

  3. nandita on said:

    yum yum! make them.. im coming home right away! 🙂 😛

  4. mamata on said:

    Waow 🙂 looks yummy 🙂 and i had been thinking you were doing only sweets 🙂 i too am coming right away 😛

Leave a Reply

