Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Vanilla Cup Cakes with Chocolate and Candied Orange Peel Frosting

Do I sound like one of those ‘masterchef’ guys, who make stuff with terribly long names? 😐

Please excuse me.

Last weekend was one of the most productive weekends I have ever, EVER had in a long…long time.  I worked-out.OK! A little! That does count! I did a bit of cleaning. I cleaned my room. Ah! It looks so much better now.  I was cribbing to a friend of mine, about not being able to clean my room and the evergreen topic of how I don’t find enough time to juggle. Finally I was motivated enough and now knowing the kind of work that has gone into cleaning, I dare not mess my room again. 😛

To beat the Monday Blues I decided to make cupcakes. You know, like a reward 😉 to myself, of course!  There is something special about cupcakes isn’t it? I remember watching Carrie Bradshaw with mouth-watering envy as she devoured the almost-perfect little cake with pink frosting in ‘Sex in the City’.

Oh! By the way, I made some lovely candied orange peel this Sunday. It is a simple three step process.

 I just discovered that I love making cupcakes exactly 23689 times more than I actually like to eat them. Making these lovely treats is actually purgative.  Have you noticed that all the cupcakes look same with minuscule  differences and  imperfections. I love the part when I line them up, take in their differences and cover them up with lovely frosting.

Nothing too overwhelming about the frosting. Its  simple melted chocolate and milk.

Sinful

They taste very well without the frosting too. Sweet, spongy and just the right amount of moistness. But that’s not their best use. Smother the cup cakes with copious amount of chocolate and eat them in mass 😀

 

 

CANDIED ORANGE PEELS

Peel of 2 oranges, thinly sliced.

1/2 a glass of orange juice

2 tsp of sugar

Peel the oranges and remove the pith with the knife. Reduce the mixture of orange juice and sugar into half. Add the orange peel and cook it for 2-3 minutes. Place the cooked orange peels on a baking tray, sprinkle some sugar and bake it on 150 degrees for 5-7 minutes.

VANILLA CUP CAKES-RECIPE

1 1/3 cup All Purpose Flour

1 tsp Baking powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

Salt-a pinch

1 cup powdered sugar

3/4 cup fresh cream

3/4 cup milk

1 tsp Vanilla extract

FROSTING

Grated Cooking chocolate

3-4 tsp of milk

In a bowl mix in cream and sugar and whip till the mixture becomes smooth. Sieve the flour, baking powder and baking soda and mix the dry mixture with the cream and sugar mixture. Add milk and mix till the batter becomes smooth.

Grease/ place the baking paper in the cake molds and pour the cake batter. Bake for 10-12 minutes at 180 degrees.

Melt the chocolate with some milk and once the cake cools down, pour the chocolate on top and sprinkle some candied orange peel.

Now after this, don’t you feel that world is surely a better place to live in? 🙂

More to come…

Toodles! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Vanilla Cup Cakes with Chocolate and Candied Orange Peel Frosting

  1. venugopal on said:

    The cup cake looks as great as it tasted. But the thing that bowled me over is the fact you wrote about it!!! Keep it up

  2. Shamant on said:

    Hello.

  3. Shamant on said:

    Looks amazing (tastes too!) You’ve perfected both presentation and taste!
    Good going! 😀

  4. Spur on said:

    They look amazing! I am reminded of Lindt Excellence Intense Orange Bar… with cake! Yum!!!

Leave a Reply

