Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Potato and Pumpkin Curry

I have finally started with driving a four-wheeler. That calls for an applause. Thank you very much. I am thoroughly enjoying the zip-zap-zoom! Two interesting things- My dad gets nervous, although he hates to admit it and my mom hold’s the seat belts the way one holds it in an amusement ride :D.

After one and a half months of blogging, I have some requests from my readers! Yay! I am overjoyed! Thank you so much!

The other day I was just having a conversation with my 15 year old cousin who happens to be a regular reader of blogofyum and he reminded me that I haven’t put up any main-course recipe. Here’s a reason why. My day starts at 5 am, I reach my work place by 7:45 and I am back by 5 in the evening. My mom packs my lunch and when I get back I generally bake or make something that is quick.  Dinner is not an elaborate affair on weekdays.

I was planning to make  Potato and Pumpkin Curry for lunch but ended up making it  for breakfast. That’s how good it is. Have it with rice, hot-parathas or phulkas. Choice is totally yours.

Tomatoes.. for tartness

Making this curry is a simple process.  It’s packed with whole lot of Indian flavors. Cumin, coriander, asefoetida, nigella, carom, fennel, turmeric, red chili powder and the quintessential garam masala.

Just stand in front of the stove, saute the potatoes and pumkin with spices, think some thoughts, stir, taste, stir. That’s it.

I like the sweet and spicy combination, thanks to my initial years in Gujarat. If you are not too fond of sweet-spicy, then avoid sugar.

 Just make it happen in your kitchen and you’ll understand 🙂

POTATO AND PUMPKIN CURRY- RECIPE 

2 medium sized potatoes, peeled and cut into big chunks.

1 cup pumpkin, cut into big chunks

2 medium sized tomatoes, chopped

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp Nigella (kalonji) seeds

1/2 tsp carom seeds

1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds

1/2 tsp turmeric

2 Bay leaves

1 tsp red chili powder

a pinch of asefoetida

1 tsp garam masala

1 tsp jeera powder

1 tsp dhania powder

2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp mustard oil

1/2 ghee or clarified butter

Salt to taste

Heat the pan, add oil and ghee. Once it heats up add the spices (mustard,cumin,carom,bay leaves, asefoetida,fennel, fenugreek and nigella). Add the potatoes,  pumpkin, some water  and cook till they are soft.

Add the rest of the spices and simmer for 5-6 minutes. Add fresh coriander and serve with hot rotis/phulkas/parathas/jeera rice.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Potato and Pumpkin Curry

  1. venugopal on said:

    It tasted great. But with rice it needs to be a bit more spicier

  2. Spur on said:

    Missing new posts 😦

Leave a Reply

