Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Pasta With Beetroot Pesto

Hello Everyone!

I am back from a big fat Indian wedding and I haven’t had that much to eat in a while. You dress up, look (try)  all pretty, smile at everyone, and eat! What a wonderful life isn’t it?

Are you a good secret keeper? I’m sure you are! I lack the ability to try something new with confidence.  Most of the times the ingredient completely flips me out. Like reaaaallly. One of my friend who reads my blog regularly (Thank you very much), asked me for a recipe with beetroot.

I am not too sure if its just me, but when people ask for something in particular, I like to take them my surprise! Like completely knock them off their socks! You know what I mean?!

I just LOVE beetroot! It beet puts me back on a conveyor belt to some random childhood memories.

One of the things that fascinated me about beetroot was its color and its ability to turn everything around it pink! I loved pink curd rice! 😀 That was just curd rice mixed with beetroot palya/sabji. Joys of having simple things in life! Priceless.

Into the oven....

For the Pesto I used the ingredients which were readily available at home.  Being a true Bangalorean, I follow the concept of “swalpa adjust maadi” which means to adjust a bit.  No compromise as far as the taste is concerned though.  So I used almonds (instead of pine nuts) and fresh coriander (instead of parsley/basil). You can also use vinegar to balance out the sweetness of the beetroot.

For the pesto...

Pesto...

Oh yes! I haven’t used cheese in the recipe at all.  For a person who gorges on sweets and anything fatty, that’s surely an achievement. Applause please! Thank you very much 😀

Pasta with Beetroot Pesto

 

PASTA WITH BEETROOT PESTO – RECIPE

For the Pesto

1 Large Beetroot

5-6 cloves of garlic

Freshly ground pepper

2 tsp Olive oil

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 cup fresh coriander

2 tsp Vinegar

5-6 Almonds

Salt to taste

1 large bowl boiled pasta.

Roast the beetroot with pepper, garlic, salt and some olive oil for about 10 minutes in the microwave. Blend in the roasted ingredients with coriander and almonds. The beetroot pesto is ready.

Mix the pesto with boiled pasta, and enjoy in piping hot.

 

More to come 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Pasta With Beetroot Pesto

  1. venugopal on said:

    Welcome back after a longish break you took. I thought you would come up some thing that brings back the memories of savories you enjoyed in the marraige:)) But all the same it was good to see another innovative eatable. Would like to see more and more such innovative dishes.

  2. Thank you! I am actually planning to make something that has inspired me in the wedding. Just that I have had too much of fatty stuff the entire week. So this week is probably going to be a salad week 😀

Leave a Reply

