Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Barley and Peanut Salad

I am in a mood to teach. How about a quick lesson on my newest food find? Are you game? Ok! I am going to drop some knowledge.

Barley is a cereal grain derived form a grass known as Hordeum Vulgare.  It is majorly grown in Germany, France and Russia. It has its roots in the Palestine.

It has a beautiful nutty flavor and a slight crunch, also its super-duper healthy which keeps you full for hours together. You’ll have to trust me on this one because its rather impossible to keep me full for hours. Its rich in fibre and protein.

Since I have had too much of sweets and fried stuff last week I decided to make a light and healthy barley salad. Without oil.  I know!!! That must be something!

Ok I know what you’re thinking. How do I cook barley?! Right?!

I was getting there!

The best way too cook barley is to soak it overnight and then pressure cook it for about ten minutes. It takes very less time to cook.  Since I am using it in a salad, I’d like to retain the crunchy and chewy texture of barley, hence used the soaked barley.

There is no recipe as such for this salad. One can be as creative as possible. I’ve used some bell peppers, spring onions, roasted peanuts and pomegranates fresh coriander, a generous doze of  lemon juice, salt and pepper. The whole idea is to keep this salad light and colorful.

 

 

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and there you go! It’s a perfect side dish, or may be even a midnight snack.

 

So, look around for some barely and try this dish sometime. It’s totally worth it. 🙂

 

More to come… 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Barley and Peanut Salad

  1. Haven’t got time to try out your recipes yet.. But I enjoy your writing and the pictures !! Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. venugopal dh on said:

    Was quite innovative idea to make salad out of barley. I thought barley is for animals n making beer!!!! Good work

  3. Spur on said:

    You really love using spring onions as garnish, don’t you?!? Maybe chefs have a tell too 🙂

  4. Soumya on said:

    Very true! They are one of my favorites 🙂

Leave a Reply

