Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Green Apple Pancakes

Is there anything that good food and music can’t solve? I have been listening to Adele for a week now. Loud. It’s playing in my car, on my comp, just everywhere. It’s just all up in my brain.

Her song- Rolling in the deep, reminds me of my heartbreak, which I no longer mourn. The sting is gone… and its all just sweet.

Now its like watching a movie in my head. Where me and this cute guy (its all in the mind silly! ) are the stars, we bake a nice cake (with frosting), eat it (of course) and then the best part- it gets good even during the not-so-good parts. I see myself going into the philosophical mode yet again!

Its hard to imagine how my now will someday get faded. I hope I am lucky enough to transform my now into my sweet memories later.

The now looks very promising, and sweet. Ah. Sweet!

I made some lovely green apple pancakes, and then drizzled it with generous amount of cinnamon flavored honey. I know this is not the first time in the history something like this has been made, but I do feel like a genius! 😀

I love the tartness of the granny smith apples. If you want to use red apples, be my guest!

Initially I was a bit hesitant to post this recipe as I am not very happy with the pictures, but after tasting it, I realized that not sharing this with you guys would be a crime!

Its just so simple! Perfect for a Sunday breakfast actually.

And who says pancakes cannot be made without eggs?!

This batter can be used with various other combinations. Use your kitchen brain and try something new. Trust me, you’ll end up feeling like a genius!

Again, with the syrup, you can be as creative as possible.  I just mixed some honey, cinnamon powder and a teaspoon of butter. You can go with some dark chocolate and cream (now what can be better than that?!) or just some sprinkling of powdered sugar and cinnamon powder.

Tip: To prevent the apples from getting oxidized, put the diced apples in a bowl of water with a dash of lemon.

 

I should have taken the pictures of the syrup.Duh-huh. Patience is not one of my virtues by the way. I just had to eat the pancakes with copious amounts of hot syrup.  😀

 

Green Apple Pancakes- Recipe

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 tsp green apple crush/apple or any other fruit juice

3/4 cup curd

3 tsp brown sugar

2 green apples, peeled and grated

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp butter

For the Honey Cinnamon syrup

4 tsp Hoeny

1 tsp cinnamon powder

1 tsp butter

Sift the wheat flour with baking powder. Mix the wet ingredients together and then add the dry ingredients to it. Mix it well.

In a pan, add about 4-5 spoons of batter (makes the pancakes thick and fluffy) and spread it. Once the side turns brown, flip the pancake and cook for about 2 mins. Add some butter to enhance the color of the pancake.

For the syrup- Mix honey with some cinnamon powder and butter, and just simmer it for about 2-3 minutes.

Pour it generously over the pancakes.

 

Trust me on this one- you will LOVE these!

More to come… 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Green Apple Pancakes

  1. Spur on said:

    How do you make them fluffier?

  2. You can add 1/4 th teaspoon of baking soda as well. The trick is to beat it really well and you can have very fluffy pancakes.

Leave a Reply

