Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Cheap Thrills

Let it be out in the open. Today I have decided to talk about my cheap fantasies. Not all of course :P.  Lets just concentrate on food, shall we?! These are the situations I’ve always wanted to be in.Unfortunately things haven’t worked out so far and hence I feel talking it out in the open might give me a fraction of that “thrill”.

  • Two dozen friends decide to go out and your wallet is as empty as your refrigerator (it’s time to panic baby!). You pass a hat and then scrounge to finally share (the classic 1 by 2 :D). Alas its not even close to “enough” for you and your friends. Then you decide to end it in style.Ice cream! Wait, wait, wait… two six packs of creamy goodness can satisfy your friends for about two minutes! So it has to be huge quantities of watery candies. Quantity wins over quality. I like it.
  • Have two breakfasts, two lunches and a couple of dinners for about a month! 😀 I know that’s scary. I just want to see the magnitude of my appetite for food. I am not thinking of the “side-effects” though. Guess it would be apparent 😛
  • Have a satisfying meal in a dirty, not-so-clean place. Told ya! Cheap fantasies! I like cleanliness. Please don’t judge me. I keep my kitchen really clean and my mother no more complains. This fantasy takes me back to my college days. We used to have something called the ‘tapri’- a rugged, not-so-clean place, famous for tea, ghirmit (a local snack) and smoke.  It was a local hang out for most of the students.  I am allergic to smoke hence it remained a fantasy to get the taste ghirmit, in those stained plates and spoons. (I can here some eeewww’s. Nevermind)

Today, while watching television, I came across this channel showing various kinds of street food. Sometimes just looking at food makes you hungry. I am an impulsive person by nature and I believe that planning is a waste of time. I decided to make my version of this local snack and have it with a cup of tea, sitting in my balcony.

Ghirmit-is basically soaked puffed rice with some onions, tomatoes, chilies (lots), regular spices and a generous doze of lime juice. Its almost how you cook, poha or avalakki or beaten rice.

It’s a perfect healthy evening snack and works fantastic with a cup of tea.

Ghirmit- Recipe

1 tsp oil

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

2 cups puffed rice. Soak it for about 10 minutes and drain out all the excess water

1 large onion chopped finely

2 medium sized tomatoes

Fresh coriander

2 tsp peanuts

3-4 green chillies

1/4 cup fresh coconut

1/4 cup roasted gram dal (hurigadle in kannada)

Salt to taste

Juice one 1 lemon

Heat some oil in the pan, add mustard seeds. Once the seeds start to splutter, add onions, green chilies, peanuts and saute it for about 5 minutes. Add tomatoes, turmeric and again saute for about five minutes.

Mix the fresh coconut and the roasted gram dal in a blender. Add this paste to the onion-tomato mixture and mix well.

Add the soaked puffed rice, salt and mix it well.

Finally add chopped coriander, and just before eating add lemon juice.

Tastes best when served hot.

Oh! And don’t forget to make yourself a cup of tea.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Cheap Thrills

  1. mamata on said:

    i didn’t know this was called ghirmit 🙂 seems easy too! Will try soon 🙂

    And about the cheap thrills, challenge accepted 😛 let’s do it 😛

Leave a Reply

