Blogofyum

Food, Recipes…..garnished with memories

Coffee Cardamom Cake (Vegan)

It’s been five months past the new year, and this is pretty much the time when I start to quietly slide aside my new year resolutions.  I am almost on the verge of cementing my old “oh-so-comfortable” habits. One of the resolution was to reduce my coffee intake. Let me tell you, I was successful for considerably long time. In fact, I am not yet back to my old 3 cups a day routine, and I wish not to either. But indulging in coffee once in a while is alright. Isn’t it? Coffee is something that we South Indians take way too seriously!

Initially I was tempted to bake a cake using chocolate and coffee. Bad idea. I mean its totally great, but when chocolate and coffee come together in a cake,  I go weak. It makes me sit on my couch, with a book, a cup of tea and a large piece of cake, and do nothing. I didn’t do it of course! But just the thought of it makes me smile.

As always, I was in an experimental mood. My mother had ordered the monthly grocery requirements and I came across a packet of green cardamom. By the way, I always looks forward to check the groceries. It’s one of my favorite things to do.  I was both excited and apprehensive to use this combination of cardamom and coffee.  Nevertheless I enjoy the feeling of uncertainty. It adds a zing to our rather boring lives.

This cake is special for another reason. It’s vegan. I had not planned to make it one. The availability of ingredients at home, eventually led to it, and the way it has turned out to be, I am super-glad and proud! It’s a perfect breakfast cake. I am having it right now, while working on this post and if you find my ramblings random, trust me, it is the coffee which is talking. 😉

The minute you put this cake in your mouth, the cardamom flavor comes through first and the coffee hits the taste buds later. The texture is smooth and light. If you are in a mood to indulge then have it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

All you need to do now is, head into your kitchen and bake this cake. Like right now!  🙂

 

COFFEE AND CARDAMOM CAKE- RECIPE

1 1/2 cup wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup cold water

1/2 cup coffee decoction

2 tsp vinegar

1 cup brown sugar

2 tsp freshly ground cardamom

Sieve the wheat flour, baking powder and baking soda. You can repeat the process if you wish to.

In a separate bowl, combine oil, water, coffee decoction, vinegar and sugar and stir it till the sugar dissolves. Now add the wheat flour mixture and give it a good mix. Once the ingredients mix, start to fold the cake batter. This will make the cake light and fluffy.

Grease the tray with some oil or use the parchment paper.

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees for about 6 minutes, and then bake the cake at 180 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

 

Note:

1. You can use castor sugar instead of  brown sugar.

2. The baking time varies with respect to the size of the baking dish and quantity of the batter. So keep a check and take the tray off the oven once you do the toothpick test and the toothpick comes out clean.

 

More to come… 🙂

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Coffee Cardamom Cake (Vegan)

  1. venugopal dh on said:

    Really great effort and great taste to cap it.

  2. rajani venugopal on said:

    Has great cardamom flavor and after taste of coffee

Leave a Reply

